Asian Hamburger Helper

When you think of “diet food” do you think of Hamburger Helper? Because I didn’t at first. Early on in my diet last year, I shunned Hamburger Helper because I thought there was no way it would be low-cal. That’ll teach me not to read the label! It is low-cal! As long as you stick to the recommended portion serving size of one cup, it’s usually around 300 calories.

Tonight we had Beef Fried Rice from Hamburger Helper. People, it was yummy.

This week I didn’t buy any ground beef, so we used ground turkey – which is even better because it cuts calories! My trick for keeping costs low when using ground turkey is… are you ready for it… I use less. Yes, I’m so cheap I just use less meat. I need to prepare two boxes to feed my family dinner and instead of using two pounds of ground turkey, I simply use one. Calories cut for me (my kiddos get plenty of helpings) and money saved.

I also opted not to put scrambled eggs in our dish tonight and I threw in some left over veggies from the previous evening. We served it all up with some nice steamed broccoli. Is it fancy? Will it impress the Queen of England? No. But it’s cheap and it won’t destroy your calorie intake.

Here’s our dinner:

Mmmm… dinner…

Forgive me for the not-so-pretty picture. I had eaten a good third of my dinner before I remembered to take a picture. So I snapped one with my husband’s cell phone in between bites.

After adding up the calories for my dish, I’ve got it clocked at about 450 for my entire dinner! This is fabulous news because thanks to my tuna wrap for lunch and my simple mexican eggs for breakfast… and the fact that I was too busy today to snack, I’m just under 1,000 calories for the entire day which allows me to have a snack later! Hooray for snacks!

And our entire dinner to feed five people with enough left over for dad to take to work for his lunch cost us about $10 total. How can you not love that?

UPDATE:

When I started this blog in 2010, I had three children and a few pounds to lose.

Then I had THREE MORE CHILDREN. And I still have a few pounds to lose. It’s funny how life throws curve-balls at our curves.

I’d love for you to visit us at www.coersfamily.com to see how we’re managing our six children and our goals for a healthier lifestyle.

2

February 17, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . Dinner, Products, Recipes.

One Comment

  1. karin replied:

    hey this is great. i love HH and im glad to see other ppl use it on a diet/budget as well.i use about 1/4 pound of turkey(i dont like meat that much and im broke!) and fat free skim milk.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

